—As many as you want. She was in life a beautiful but strange, hermetic, antisocial woman who preferred to live far away from humancivilization, in manor homes built for her from her seemingly boundless wealth. Then SBA are checked and if you decided to keep only the second Olivia, when trigger resolves you can choose to discard a card and put a +1/+1 counter on the Olivia and give her Haste until end of turn. For an entertainment I suggest you look at how Olivia was drawn. Now, when a legend enters the battlefield, it’s important  who controls the permanent. — How many legendary permanents can be on the battlefield under one player’s control? These contractions are considered to be referring only to those characters, even if there are cards beginning with the same name in the format. However, triggered abilities like one of Kalastria Highborn do trigger. If you control the Metamorph entering the battlefield, you can choose which Olivia stays in play. Of course, Olivia’s second and third abilities work together well. — They both will function from the moment when the second legend enter the battlefield to SBA perfom. This effect doesn’t have an “expiration date” and doesn’t depend on Olivia’s existence. You won’t gain control of target Vampire. As Olivia isn’t there, you can’t place a counter. (Do you know that ability exists on the stack independently of its source?) A creature with Flying can be blocked only with creatures with Flying or Reach. During resolution of tht trigger all creature your control gain Indestructible until end of turn. This is called the "legend rule". The “legend rule” doesn’t apply to this legendary land and a basic land with the same name. If a creature gained several Flying abilities, the “extra” ones are simply ignored. That creature becomes a Vampire in addition to its other types. Why would you need that? When the second Archangel Avacyn enters the battlefield under you control, its ability triggers. After Sorin was defeated and encased in stone by Nahiri, Olivia proclaimed herself the new lord of Innistrad and took his sword from him. However, if there is another Olivia on the battlefield, one Olivia can target another with this ability. Auras and Equipments stay attached to the creature, but their controller doesn’t change. When a control-changing effect appears, questions connected to the effects’ text arise. Even if Olivia Voldaren doesn’t deal any damage (for instance, it gets redirected or prevented), everything else happens: target creature gets a Vampire subtype and Olivia – a counter. If an opponent’s Phyrexian Metamorph enters the battlefield copying your Olivia Voldaren, both you and your opponent control an Olivia. No damage, no Vampires and no counters. If Ishkanah enters the battlefield and your you have 4 card types in th egraveyard, the ability triggers and will bring you Spiders as resolves. If this is your creature, you can’t do anything (like sacrifice or tap) with this Vampire, as SBA are checked before anyone gets priority. This rule is informally called the "summoning sickness" rule. It only defines if a creature can be assigned as a blocker during the declare blockers step. For example, if Gideon is affected by any other effects, he returns to his original state and his type string looks as follows: “Planeswalker - Gideon”. There is a “rule of legends” for legendary permanents with a same name: 704.5j. You also can’t activate its abilities with the tap (or untap) sign in their cost. To know more about control effects and the legend rule we will meet the magnificent vampire Olivia Voldaren. Static ability of Elish Norn start to apply as soon as it appeared on the battlefield, all creatures opponent contorl suddenly get -4/-4. As you already know (I honestly want to believe that), an activated ability doesn’t depend on its source. It also doesn’t matter if you control another Olivia Voldaren (if you somehow avoided the “legend rule”). If it’s a limited tournament, there are no restrictions — of course, all the cards must come from your limited pool. When Olivia’s third ability resolves, you gain control of target creature. If you stole your opponent’s creature that has a spell with Cipher encoded on it, you control the Cipher trigger. Some of them, though (for example, Karakas) are played in eternal formats and cost a lot of money. Flying is an evasion ability. The “legend rule” doesn’t apply. If target creature became an illegal target when ability started resolving (for example, gained Protection from Creatures or Hexproof), the ability is countered. After that the effect of Gideon’s ability is applied, and he becomes a “Planeswalker Creature – Gideon Human Soldier”. Notice that as the Sword is controlled by your opponent, they control the trigger. These cards mainly are played in Commander (EDH), where legends (for instance, the General) are pretty important. — Yes. When Gideon’s animation effect ends, subtypes not connected to current permanent type cease to exist. Exactly the same is true for a creature which changed control. That instruction is simply ignored. Olivia Voldaren’s second ability is targeted. You can lose control in two ways: your cunning opponent can borrow Olivia or she dies. You also get the opportunity to cast a copy of the ciphered spell. If you control Stromkirk Captain, as soon as your Dark Confidant becomes a Vampire, it gets Flying doesn’t change the damage assignment. Note, that you choose discard a card or not only at trigger resolves. It has a limitation: you can’t target Olivia itself. Put a +1/+1 counter on Olivia Voldaren. {1}{R}: Olivia Voldaren deals 1 damage to another target creature. This is the main difference between the old and new rules. There are cards that deal only with legendary objects or give additional perks if the object is a legend.