Commander 2017 is no different and you can’t really get weirder or wackier than Mairsil, the Pretender. Mairsil, the Pretender This card is just such a flavor win and looks like a great value engine too. Mairsil won’t gain triggered abilities (which start with “when,” “whenever,” or “at”). "What do you have that I cannot obtain? I have been toying around with [[Mairsil, the pretender]] and his combo potential. Does Mairsil, the Pretender's gimmick work with Izzet Chemister's ability? I have not finalized the deck list yet, so I am just going to list some general combos and architecture here. Mairsil, the Pretender has all activated abilities of all cards you own in exile with cage counters on them. As such, I am thinking of brewing up a deck for him that embraces my favorite meta-achetype, that of Combo-Control. Fellwar Stone; Artifact {T}: Add to your mana pool one mana of any color that a land an opponent controls could produce. I have some questions. "-Mairsil, the Pretender: More Info: For special rulings visit the Gatherer page. Mairsil is a pretty unique commander in that you want to get as many of your creatures into exile as possible. 8/25/2017: If an activated ability of a card in exile with a cage counter on it references the card it’s printed on by name, treat Mairsil’s instance of that ability as though it referenced Mairsil by name instead. You may activate each of those abilitites only once each turn. The idea here is not to build him as a straight combo deck, made to … Rulings. Deckbox Sellers Click on any seller to visit … While this is the case you don’t want them to get exiled any old way, you need them exiled through your commander’s ability. Alright so I made a Mairsil, the Pretender deck and finally got to playtest it today... well after about 2 games I think I have a few too many questions to reasonably run the card without clearing all of them up first. More Info: For special rulings visit the Gatherer page. Mairsil, the Pretender has all activated abilities of all cards you own in exile with cage counters on them. It only produces one mana even if the land can produce more than one. Asked by Shaydewalker 2 years ago. [2004-10-04] This works even if the opponent's lands are tapped. Add To Wishlist Restock Notice Gatherer & Rulings Asked by DoctorScarf 1 year ago Okay, so I'm cooking up a Mairsil, the Pretender brew for my next build and I came across a mega sick-as card, namely Izzet Chemister.If I were to cage the chemister with Mairsil, would I be able to cast literally everything that I've caged if I use his second ability? —Mairsil, the Pretender; Oracle. You may activate each of those abilities only once each turn. A good few of these ideas came from, or were inspired by the good work others have done in different posts, so thank you all. Please consider subscribing to a Deckbox …