A total of 30 countries (as of October 2006), all signatory to the Antarctic Treaty, operate seasonal (summer) and year-round research stations on the continent and in its surrounding oceans. The operation to install just one station demands all types of effort. "An Antarctic research station is like a remote mining town, but because it's nobody's permanent home, it's everybody's home," says Dr. Jenny Baeseman, a polar researcher and the executive director of the Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR). These persons include research teams from academia, industry, and government, military personnel, and contractor employees. The McMurdo Station is a United States Antarctic research station on the south tip of Ross Island, which is in the New Zealand–claimed Ross Dependency on the shore of McMurdo Sound in Antarctica. Mawson, Davis and Casey stations are on the Antarctic continent. "Everybody's very friendly and helpful. The Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR) is a thematic organisation of the International Science Council (ISC), and was created in 1958.SCAR is charged with initiating, developing and coordinating high quality international scientific research in the Antarctic region (including the Southern Ocean), and on the role of the Antarctic region in the Earth system. The academic training of students with a scientific calling and to approach global matters marks a difference regarding what the Colombian government is currently doing in Antarctica. Each year the United States deploys to Antarctica about 700 people to perform scientific research and about 2,500 people to operate and maintain year-round research stations and provide logistics in support of this research. A Look Into the International Research Stations of Antarctica. Named after Russian and Ukrainian mineralogist Vladimir Vernadsky, this station is located at Marina Point on Galindez Island and boasts a lounge that serves as the ‘Southernmost Bar in the World’, as well as a post office where visitors may send mail from Antarctica. The AAD manages other significant areas in the Australian Antarctic Territory. Regarded as the “international continent”, Antarctica is a place of worldwide cooperation, peace, and scientific discovery. Russia readies new Antarctic station with Mikhelson cash Novatek billionaire plays his part in Russia's scientific push in frozen region Read more: Colombia searches for signals of climate change in Antarctica (In Spanish). Representatives from Brazil’s scientific community and government will head to Antarctica this month to inaugurate its new Comandante Ferraz Research Station, which replaces a … Many of the stations are staffed around the year. A number of governments maintain permanent research stations throughout Antarctica. Macquarie Island station is in the sub-Antarctic.. Scientists and support staff occupy all 4 stations year-round. There are currently 70 permanent research stations scattered across the continent of Antarctica, which represent 29 countries from every continent on Earth.